Chaos.

This time of year, what with finals going on and stress levels being high, we are always told to persevere. And yes, perseverance is so important, but it is really easy to hear that and still get stressed out and overwhelmed. As I was preparing for the week ahead full of homework and tests, I realized that I was getting so frustrated and frankly just exhausted. We all have a lot going on and to be honest, we just want to be done. But in doing this, and by carrying so many of our burdens on our own, I realized that we can easily lose sight of God. Proverbs 16:3 says to “Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.” I’ve really been clinging to this thought as I’ve been wrapping up the school year. Knowing that I have the freedom to lay all of my burdens at His feet gives me relief beyond compare. If I commit myself to Him, He is the One guiding and determining my life. If I acknowledge Him as King of all my worries, I can know with full assurance that it is in His hands. How great it is to know that the Creator that holds our world is establishing our plans?! I know for a fact that I can’t even begin to do this “life thing” all by myself. If we are being honest, some days I find it hard to even get out of bed. But I can trust the Lord with my life, and know that He is above all. That He has overcome and gone before. So in the chaos, and in the stress, my sweet Father tells me in Psalm 46:10 to “Be still, and know that I am God.” To BE STILL! Because HE. Is GOD. And that is all I need to hear. My soul is at rest knowing that the One who stills my soul is forever the King of my heart, the King of my worries, and the King who conquers all. You can find God in the chaos. You never lost Him, He’s just one step away. Because Jesus came to overwhelm the thing that’s overwhelming you.

I’ll say/write/type that again.

Jesus came to overwhelm the thing that’s overwhelming you. 

Leave a Reply

